How did you decide on a home theme?

Hello, loves.  As many of you know, along with weddings comes wedding presents.  Future Mr. tGC and I have decided to go with a wedding registry for this purpose.  My family will basically hunt you down for a Christmas present list, so we figured it’d be the best option for us. The two of us, though, have lived together part-time since I got a summer job in his college city, and full-time since we went to graduate school at the same place.  Needless to say, we have everything we need household wise.

So, we were stumped as to what to register for.  A friend gave us a suggestion that we’re going to run with. She said “Upgrade!” I figured, why the heck not. So that’s what we’re doing.  We are registering for things we’d like to upgrade – including our home decor. Since we’re both pretty young, our apartment shows it.  It’s cute, but a lot of our things were purchased for practicality, not because they were our favorite pieces.  No we’re stuck – how do we make our rooms look cohesive?  Do we pick one thing as the basis, then go from there? What do you think?

That, above, is the major piece we like for the living room.  It’s from Bed, Bath, and Beyond.  It looks much more vibrant in person. The Mr. is totally in love with it, which I think is too cute. The dark frame matches our coffee table, but nothing else in our entire living room. This is why I need your suggestions. Do we need to get new picture frames? Or will black ones work (that’s what we have)? Where should we put photos? Ahhh… so many things to think about.

Many of you replied to the categories for my cookbook, and I greatly appreciate that. I’ve decided to go with the following:  Appetizers, Entrees, Sides, Desserts, Miscellaneous.

And since you guys were so awesome, I’ll give you a sneak-peak into the recipes that I’ve decided on so far. Some are my own, some are my family’s recipes, and others are my favorites.

  • Appetizers: Buffalo Chicken Dip, Spinach, Artichoke, and Parmesan Spread
  • Entrees: My Hungarian Stroganoff, Kathi’s Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese, Mushroom and Brie Bisque, Grilled Chicken Pasta in a Tomato Cream Sauce
  • Sides: Pasta Salad, Cauliflower and Onion Tart
  • Desserts: Hawaiian Wedding Cake, Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins, My Peanut Butter Pie
  • Miscellaneous: Pumpkin Spice Latte, Overnight Cinnamon Roll

As you can see, I still have a few gaps.  The Mr.’s co-workers are also excited about this because I’ve vowed to send the dishes to work with him. That way, they can be our taste testers and I don’t have to eat all of it myself and go over my wedding-prep calorie allowance. It’s an all-around win. 🙂

Okay – now I am off to make a birthday card for a celebration tonight.  I have an awesome idea for it in my head! If it goes well, I’ll post a tutorial tomorrow.  Happy Thursday!

2 thoughts on “How did you decide on a home theme?

  1. Happy Thursday! I love decorating things! Especially when Its a hand on project of my own; it makes home that much more special! I love the artwork. usually I like to match and have at least 2 items that are of a different color. I guess I get a little too complicated with my own color scheme…eh us art majors for ya! The cookbook recipes sound delish! (Especially those beverages!!)

  2. Hehe, so I see that you went with the regular categories for your cookbook. 🙂 As for the registry, I definitely agree on the “upgrade”. Hehe. Hmm, I think the frame would work, but then again, I’m not an interior designer at all… So I wouldn’t really know, hehe.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

